It is so sad for others that they don't appreciate my genius.
 

    Moving
    I have a new home. Wait to be redirected, or click this link here.

    diaryland
     2001-11-08
    9:24 p.m.

    my job
    My Job.

    I am a nanny. Like Mary Poppins or Golly. Though I think I probablly have more in common with rosie o'donnel than julie andrews. Basiclly, my job is to love somebody elses child. for this I get paid. I also don't have to deal with midnight feedings, which is always a plus. I work for a great couple. I met them at church..see, I knew this God thing would come in handy eventually...except, they just don't seem to have much time for a baby. I've worked for them since august, and theve left the baby to go away for a weekend two times allready. I've had my kids a hellaofalot longer than that, and I don't leave them that much. I work from 8-6 four days a week, so I'm with him about 40 hours a week. Except at least every other week, I babysit in the evening, too. but, figure, I spend 40 hours a week with the baby. There are 168 hours in a week. figure in that the child is in bed from 8-8, so....he sleeps 84 of the 148 he's with his parents and not me. that's not including naps, about 3 hours a day, so that's nine more hours....93 hours out of 148, that's.....55 hours a week he spends with his parents. That's 15 more hour than I do. Give or take. Boy, I didn't mean to get so numbers happy.

    It's not that I don't love my job. I do, and am very good at what I do. I like kids. and the baby? He's awesome, a really easy baby to take care of. But sometimes, I wonder if it's right that I get paid to love somebody else's kid. and sometimes I feel bad because I spend all day taking care of a baby, and there are nights when I get home, and I just don't have a lot left for my kids. and I sometimes wonder if my boss knows what she is missing. Being a mom isn't just giving birth, and midnight feedings. a lot of it is the every day, boring stuff. Like bottles, and laying on the floor, and the first time the baby does something new or different. burbing, getting spit up on. I don't mean to romantises minutea, but that's how you fall in love with a baby.

    oh, well. I don't mean to complain. I firmly believe I have the best job in the world.